Sakurai Prize 2024 for Andrzej Buras

Cluster Emeritus Prof. Dr. Andrzej J. Buras from the Technical University of Munich will receive the Sakurai Prize (official name: J. J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics). The prize is one of the most prestigious awards in theoretical particle physics. The Sakurai Prize will be awarded by the American Physical Society at its annual meeting from 3 to 6 April 2024 in Sacramento, California, and honors outstanding achievements in particle physics theory.

Image shows Andrzej Buras

Cluster-Emeritus Prof. Dr. Andrzej J. Buras. Image: Karin Buras

The selection committee awards the Sakurai Prize to Andrzej Buras "for his exceptional contributions to quark-flavor physics, in particular, developing and carrying out calculations of higher-order QCD effects to electroweak transitions, as well as for drawing phenomenological connections between kaons, D mesons, and B mesons."

Sakurai Prize goes to Germany for the first time

Since its 40-year history, the Sakurai Prize to Andrzej Buras marks the first prize to a scientist from a German research institution. The prize consists of $10,000, an allowance for travel to the meeting of the Society at which the prize is to be awarded, and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. The family and friends of particle physicist J. J. Sakurai endow the prize. It has been awarded annually since 1985.